A Letter to My Blog

Dear Days, Life, Dreams,

I’ve ignored you for some time now. There has been a battle in my head over which direction to take with you, and that has led to my not giving you any attention at all. I’m sorry.

I love writing, I really do. You know that from the nearly 500 posts you contain, dating back to February 2008 when I wrote my very first post. At first, I wrote about my family, my kids, and our life in India. I enjoyed writing all that, even though I know it was only read by a select few, mainly family.

And that is what I’ve forgotten over the past 6 years – why I started this blog in the first place. My only goal was to let my family (and anyone else who was interested) know what was happening in our lives. It was a few years before I discovered other mommy blogs, memes, blogging groups, etc. At first I got sucked into thinking I had to do what everyone else was doing to get a large following, blah, blah, blah. It drove me crazy trying to keep up, especially before you had this one place to call home and your contents were spread over 3 different blogs.

I’ve come to realize that I miss the relationship we had in the beginning. I miss posting short things about my kids and the rascals they were, or just putting up a picture or two and not worrying if I didn’t have a topic to write about.  So, my dear Blog, I am coming  back to you as me, not as anyone else. I will again write like I used to, just enjoying the time we have together. I will visit you when I feel like it, not according to some timetable. I don’t ever want to get so overwhelmed with “blogging” that I forget you are also my friend.

You listen to what ever I have to say. You don’t complain. You don’t judge. You are just there for me.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart,

Me

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. It can be so easy to forget why we started blogging once we get into page views and social media. I love that you are getting back to basics and doing what you enjoy!! I love this!

    Reply
  2. I have this same conversation with my blog, weekly.

    Reply
  3. I’m with you on this. For the first year, I posted every day, even if it was just photographs. Then I allowed myself a break over the holidays and have never seemed to get my blog mojo back fully. I think now that I’m focusing on other projects as well as my blog, it takes time away. But I figure there’s always another chance at a clean slate tomorrow!

    Reply
    • I’ve found on several occasions that a break helps you think and write more clearly when you get back into it. And yes, there is always tomorrow.

      Reply

Comments make me smile!

