April Weight Check-in

Oh, boy. Summer has hit hard and it is just the beginning. I don’t recall it being this humid last year. While the temperature is still only 34C, the humidity makes it feel much hotter.

Even at 6 a.m., when I begin my workout, it is no longer cool and fresh but hot and muggy. I sweat so much I’m gonna need a bigger water bottle just to keep hydrated. This morning I was doing my toning exercises on the balcony, and the sweat was running down my arms and legs, just pouring off. You can imagine how bad it is when I run. I carry a handkerchief with me and it is drenched before my run is over.

So yesterday was my weigh-in day. I only weigh myself once a month, for a few reasons, the main one being the scale is not in my house. 🙂 I go to a pharmacy that has a proper digital scale so I can get a true weight, but it is a good distance from the house in a neighborhood I no longer frequent (we used to live there).

Anyway, I was a bit anxious about whether I’d have lost any more weight or not, since it has been a long time since I’ve had any weight loss success. I was hoping the previous months loss was not a fluke, and that I had not re-gained the weight I lost. Well, I needn’t have worried because the scale has moved down again. I now weigh 75.2 kgs. (165 lbs.)!!! Remember that at the beginning of February, I weighed 79.3 kgs. (174 lbs.), so that is a loss of 4.1 kgs. (9 lbs.) in just two months!

To what do I owe this success? Well, I know the consistent exercise sure helps, but for me, the true key was changing my diet. Eating smaller portions, less starch and sweet, filling up on raw salads, and drinking more water has made the difference between last years failed weight loss attempt and this years success. 

You know that quote about how it takes 4 weeks for you to see change, 8 for your friends to see it, and 12 for the world to see? Well, it’s taken me 8 weeks but I am now seeing changes.

484653_633427593349792_276017228_n

My face looks slightly less round, my arms are showing some definition, my tummy is now smaller (not larger!) than my boobs, my legs look more toned, and I can see the outline of my rib cage again. 🙂 I still have a ways to go to get to my ideal weight but these changes are keeping me motivated to continue.

Oh, and so is this. 🙂

529406_608122465880305_2045180460_n

Ever!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. gloria

     /  April 4, 2013

    You are encouraging me, so while I am in Canada ; since the plan is six months there, I will also make some changes. Thanks Mercy, for the incentive. Now keep going girl, you are doing it. It is worth the fight, when your weight is down, you feel better, work is less tiring and of course ,you look your best! LU Mom

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

