Beach Outing and Nana’s Birthday

Ok, time to update you all on our doings. Time has not been on my side as far as being able to sit and write. My morning priority has been exercise, but in order to get it, I have to get up at 6 every morning. By the time the kids are off to school, house is clean, and any other stuff is taken care of, it is time to make lunch, feed and nap the kids, and I’m ready for a nap myself.

Afternoons are full of playground outings, cooking, cleaning new messes, disciplining (by far the most stressful part), baths and homework. By the time the kids are in bed I’m ready for bed myself. I think it’s time to evaluate my schedule and see how to work in some writing time every day so it doesn’t pile up on me. I’m looking into what I need to do to make the switch from writing as a hobby to making it my profession, ie. get paid for it.

Until then, whenever “then” may be, here is today’s post.

Ok, so Glad’s mom was with us from the 10th to the 26th. Because of our move, and knowing that once we go it will be a long time before she sees us again, Glad arranged for her to be here during the kids’ and her birthdays. We also plan to visit her for Christmas, and we will most likely stay with her a while before we make our final move.

Anyway, the 21st was her birthday and my kids were excited. They knew it would equal more cake (which they can never turn down) and they hoped for other fun. They have yet to figure out that adults aren’t as into birthday parties as kids are. Logan and Lila had decided that Nana was turning 3 years old and that she needed a number 3 candle on her cake. Ha.

I made our favorite chocolate cake (if you haven’t tried this recipe, you have to) but I only made a third of it since I wanted a small cake. Fewer leftovers mean less temptation and a smaller waistline for me, if you catch my drift.

That afternoon we went to the famous Marina Beach. Despite its popularity, we have never gone there before, mainly because it is normally qute crowded and swimming is not allowed due to dangerous undercurrents. Drownings are reported in the local paper almost weekly. Being a weekday afternoon, the part we went to was rather empty.

While Logan kept badgering us to let him in the water, Lila was freaking out from the strong wind and the sand hitting her legs and she wanted to leave right away. Scarlett seemed to enjoy it, and she had her first horse ride.

We didn’t stay long, less than an hour, but at least some of us enjoyed it. I convinced Lila to collect some shells that littered the sand, and we plan to make something with them.

Click here to get more photos of the afternoon and Nana’s birthday.

The last 2 days Nana was here, Scarlett warmed up to her and started talking to her all day long, wearas in the beginning she was scared and wouldn’t go near her. I think Scarlett will enjoy visiting her at Christmas, though I am not looking forward to the train trip. More on that another time.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Comments make me smile!

