Gone and Back Again

You know how there are days when you want to sleep in, but you can’t? Your body clock wakes you despite your best effort to go back to sleep. You wake up even before your alarm goes off, so you decide to get up and get some blogging done, since it has been so long since your last post. “The kids went to bed late,” you think “so they will sleep in.” Right!

Just as you settle down with your coffee and banana cake, the toddler, who somehow snuck into your bed in the night without you waking, is up. She wants to sit on your lap, hold a piece of cake but not eat it, then cries when you put her down. Then she wants milk so you get her a cup of milk and see your oldest is up. Tell him he can go back to sleep because today is not a school day, but he doesn’t want to. Of course not!

Try to put the t.v. on but of course, today it is acting up and doesn’t want to work. Leave it on anyway so that you can see when it decideds to turn on. Meanwhile child #3 shows up and procedes to eat the piece of cake sitting on your plate. She polishes it off lickety split and wants more, then the others want to eat. Cut some cake for all of them, see that the t.v. has finally decided to work, then try to coax them to finish the cake they so desperately wanted a few minutes before.

You see where I’m going with this. Try as I might, time alone to blog doesn’t happen, especially on weekends. It is only 8 a.m., all 3 kids are up, partially fed, and I’ve typed, well, maybe half a post. Why is it kids wake up earlier when there is no school, even though you let them stay up late the night before in the hopes that they would sleep in?

So if you have been wondering where I’ve been and why there hasn’t been a new post in so long, well, aside from no time to blog, you can read this post from my other blog that explains why else I’ve not been blogging. I hope to get back into the swing of it now. I’m aiming for one post a week, if I can. Two or three would be nice but I don’t know if I’ll be able to pull it off. We’ll see what happens.

My little stinkers. 🙂
Leave a comment

Comments make me smile!

