Exercise

No matter how tired I am, I’m up at 6 every morning. I need time to myself before my kids get up. Free time is one thing most mothers don’t get much of, if any at all, so I have to make my own free time. Weekdays I work out between 6:15 and 7:00; weekends I can get an hour or more since I don’t have to wake the kids for school.

There is something to be said for early morning exercise. I find that it clears my mind, melting away any stress I may have had.  All that blood racing to my brain awakens creativity; I get some of my best writing ideas while jogging or jump-roping. When I am outside in nature, doing something good for my body, I feel free. I let the demands of the day ahead wait and I focus on me. That is my time.

Weekend mornings, when my hubby doesn’t go to the gym early, I get to go jogging at the nearby park and he wakes up with the kids. Well, it’s more them waking him up. 🙂 Ha. This morning at 6 it was raining so I slept some more, and when I got up at 7, the rain had stopped so I decided to go for my jog.

About 10 minutes into it, the rain came back. The park cleared out rapidly, but it takes more than rain to get me to leave so I kept going. I now had a clear path with no slow walkers in my way and I got a good 30 minute jog. It was so refreshing.

I aim to work out 5 or 6 mornings a week, simply because my days go better when I start with something good for my body. Exercise clears my mind, helps me relax, and of course, has helped me lose some weight that I desperately needed to get rid of. I have yet to reach my ideal weight but I’m not quitting yet.

Once I’ve had my workout, I sit with my coffee and work the daily crossword, sudoku, and a few other puzzles that come in the morning paper. That way, I’ve had both a physical and mental workout, all before my kids get up. I find I am a better mother when I get time to myself regularly.

How about you? What has exercise done for you?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I'm glad to see you back! I know what you mean about exercise helping clear your head. I usually have to do something like that AFTER work instead since my teenagers I work with tend to drive me nuts otherwise. It's been much harder to do at 8+ months pregnant, and I'm wondering how it will work after the little one gets here. I'll have to wait and see…

    Reply
  2. I had the hardest time keeping up with exercise when I had a baby. It seemed the baby was always determined to interrupt the time, no matter when I planned it. One thing that helped was daily walks with the baby in either a carrier or a stroller. You can get a pretty brisk walking speed or, if you think the investment worth it, an exercise stroller that allows you to run or jog with it is a good solution. That way, if you don't have anyone who can take the baby so you can have uninterrupted time, you can still get some exercise.

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

