Not a Perfect Mom? Join the Club

Today’s post is linked up with Confessions from an Impulsive Addict‘s weekly meme, Talk to Us Tuesday and

Honest-Voices-linkup-at-HonestMom.com_-300x284

 

the Honest Voices linkup at Honest Mom.

 

Before my kids were born, I dreamed about how I would be the perfect mom. I had it all planned out. I would always comfort and hold them, talk calmly, never get upset. I would snuggle whenever they wanted and storytime at night would be fun. In my imagination, my kids would be good all the time, would always listen – actually, I think I never planned on them growing up.

Learning to be a mom has been tough, I’ll admit. There is always something new around the corner that I have to figure out how to handle. Sometimes I have an “ahh” moment and I am proud of how I handled a stiuation; at other times I wish I could go back and redo it cause I know I messed up miserably.

PMS time is the hardest time of the month for me to interact with my kids. I lose my temper easily, shout more than necessary, punish needlessly, and just make life miserable for all of us. Those damn hormones! It usually takes a few days before I figure out why I am feeling so irritable; once I do, I can more easily catch myself and control it, but until then, I am a walking timebomb.

Every little fight, mess, cry – it all gets on my nerves and I let loose. I wish I could always be calm and collected, but I guess that is wishful thinking on my part. What mother is always calm no matter what is happening around her?

Once “that time of the month” is over, I return to my normal self. But I continue to wonder if I will ever be able to make it through a day without getting upset once. Logan and Lila seem to be at war all the time. They keep fighting, biting, pinching, taking things from each other, and generally doing whatever they can to upset the other one. Do they know it gets on my nerves and is that why they do it all day long?

I think I just need a vacation – without them.

They only look innocent …

What do you do when being with your kids begins to take a toll on you? How do you de-stress?

 

P.S. I wrote this post almost a year ago when my youngest was still nursing, plus I had a troublesome toddler and always-on-the-go preschooler. Not much has changed, except they are all a year older. 🙂

Next Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Man, it's always good to hear other moms confessing their less than perfect parenting moments. I usually have to put MYSELF in time out when i feel myself getting too stress or snappy. I go in my room for about 10 minutes and read or something. It really helps!

    Reply
  2. You are SO not alone! PMS week is especially the worst for me, too – hair trigger emotions to say the least! Usually I'll do what allstarme does…put myself in a time-out when I feel like I'm losing control. 🙂May Day Weather and Spicy Racks

    Reply
  3. I get snappy at that time of the month. Incredibly touchy. And it takes me a couple of days and my hubby pointing it out to me before I realize it–it really sneaks up on me.To destress, I take a girl's night once a week–no kids, out with a friend or two and have time away, and a drink.Otherwise a bath helps, and chocolate never hurts.

    Reply
  4. I'll admit I do yell to much. They keep pushing my buttons and I will just yell. And I really hate yelling at them. I rarely get just me time. Once in a great while my husband will be gracious enough to let me out, kid free.

    Reply
  5. Hi, I don't have any kids in the house these days. I wish I had an easy answer. My friend would go in her bathroom and lock the door. I know a bathroom, right? But it was her spot where she could take a deep breath..just not too deep.. 🙂 If I made you smile that is my point!

    Reply
  6. The television! Just stumbled across your site, really cute lil ones you have,

    Reply
  7. Oh man. I tend to yell a little bit. I cry sometimes. But what's sad? I only have one child. I need to work on my patience. But I've got a girls trip to look forward to on Thursday. I'll come back Monday a brand new mommy! Thanks so much with linking up with Shawn and myself. We appreciate it!!

    Reply
  8. I worry a lot about what kind of mom I'm going to be. I want to believe that I'll be able to always be patient, loving and supportive. But I realize the older I get that real life can sometimes cause me to be anything but that. So glad I found blogging, so that when the time comes for me to be a mommy, I'll have a support group!

    Reply
  9. We all have our Mommy moments, anyone who says differently is lying! I get through with a little Xamnax and a stiff drink! Thanks for linking up with us!

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

