I Recommend … Chyawanprash

For quite some time, Logan was constantly getting colds, coughs, etc. He got pickier as he got older, and of course, he got sick more often. I was desperate for a solution. Then my sister-in-law told me that her son had the same problem for a long time and the solution she found was to give him chyawanprash daily.

Chyawanprash is an herbal mixture that is common here in India. It consists of a long list of spices and herbs, with the main ingredient being the amla (gooseberry) which is high in vitamin C. (The link above lists many of the ingredients.) It is often recommended for its health benefits. At first glance it may not look so appetizing, and the taste may take getting used to, but after almost a year of use, I can say that it works.
I give it to my children daily along with their multivitamins. At first I wasn’t sure if they would eat it, so I told them it was vitamin honey, and I made sure to give them just a small amount to taste. Well, they liked it right away and now ask for it daily. Even Scarlett has started eating it and she enjoys it. I give her about a 1/4 of a dessert spoonfull and the older ones have a full dessert spoonfull. I’ve even started taking it myself and find that I am not getting run down as often as I was before. The fact that it was recently released with orange and mango flavor added has inspired me to try it, since I didn’t like the taste so much before. The kids love it more with the flavor as well.
This is primarily an Indian remedy, but it is possible that it is available in other places. If you find it where you live, you may like to try it.
Next Post
Leave a comment

Comments make me smile!

