Weigh Up, Weigh Down … Down … Down, I Hope

Ok, I must do this, even though it is tough – I am trying to lose weight – again.

Before I had kids, I was a normal weight, roughly around 145 lb. (65 kgs.) I’m 5′ 5” (167 cm.) so that was a good weight for me. I exercised daily and never overate except for the occasional party spurge, which never bothered me.


With the chidren I nannied for 3 years, around 2005.

Then I got pregnant with Logan. All sorts of new things hit me, including whether or not it was safe to continue my regular exercise. Instead of exercising, I stopped except for the occasional walk, and once the nausia passed, I ate, a lot! I had heard that I needed to eat every two hours so that is what I did. Logan was born at 33 weeks and I weighed 198 lb. (90 kgs.)  Imagine what I woud have weighed had he been born at full term!

With Logan in the NICU, when he was 8 days old.

As soon as I was recovered enough from the delivery, I started exercising again and was able to lose a fair amount but I was nowhere near my former weight.

On a train – Logan was 10 months and I was just a few weeks pregant with Lila.

With Lila I also gained, but I knew that it wasn’t necessary to eat so often, only when I was hungry, so, while I gained about the same amount, it was over 9 months instead of 7, so I gained slower. I also got a bit more exercise.

About 2 weeks before Lila was born.

After Lila I worked hard and got down to a decent size that I was ok with. I fit into my clothes and was planning on losing more … when Scarlett showed up.

Just before I got pregant with Scarlett.

Again I weighed about 90 kgs. when Scarlett was born. During that pregnancy I did my best to not overeat and to exercise as much as I could, but I still gained.

6 months along with Scarlett.

One month after Scarlett was born.

I do gain easily, and I have to keep exercising and keep my meal portions in check, but I got lax after Scarlett came. Well, I did try for about a month when she was 3 months old, but gave up shortly afterwards. I was too tired, often sick, or the kids were sick, all 3 would get up in the night, and Logan was in nighttime potty training – in short, I was too tired and busy to exercise.
And it caught up with me, though I didn’t realise how much until December. I had kept eating what I wanted, rashionalizing that I needed it since I was still breastfeeding, etc. Well, Scarlett is not a small baby any more. She is 14 months, and while she still nurses maybe 2 or 3 times a day and at least once a night, she gets most of what she needs from solids. She is a good eater and I no longer need to worry about my milk being perfect since she is more nursing for comfort and out of habit rather than for nutrition.
Since we don’t have a full length mirror in the house, I never saw myself in full, and it was only when pants that I almost fit into started getting tight again that I realised something was wrong. In December we went for an outing with some friends, and that changing room mirror, and seeing photos from the day afterwards, were enough to scare me into getting back into shape. I had no idea I had let myself go so much until I saw this:

Freaky!

 And this:

So since the beginning of January I have started on my (hopefully permanent) weight loss program. For me, the best time for exercise is the morning, before the kids get up, for two reasons: 1 – the kids are sleeping and won’t bother me, and 2 – the computer, which has my workout videos on it, is home.
I get up at 6, have my coffee, check my mail, FB, etc. Then I start exercising between 6:30 and 6:45. I wanted to take it slow and get used to it again, so for the past 2 weeks I’ve been doing anywhere between 20 and 40 minutes of exercise daily, and yesterday I was able to do my first 1 hour workout. That felt good.
I have also been keeping tabs on my diet and watch my meals portions, only snack a little with my afternoon coffee (and I make sure it is a healthy snack instead of the cookies I was having), and I no longer have an evening snack. I’ve cut back on alcohol and limit treats. I could never do a diet that cuts out all yummy stuff, but cutting back works for me and is what I am doing.
My starting weight as of Jan. 1st. was 76 kgs. (167 lb.) and my goal is to lose 10 kgs which would bring me back to my pre-pregnancy weight. I’ll let you know how I have done on the 1st of Feb. when I do a weight and body measurement check.
So heres to permanent weight loss (click virtual glass with mine). I will do this!

I am linking up for Talk to Us Tuesday over at Confessions from an Impulsive Addict. Come join us.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Admittedly, I have not lost all my baby weight either (only 5 pounds away!) but my suggestion – and don't take this any kind of wrong way – is just to run! I hated running but when my second kid was 6 weeks, I started. I ran 2miles every other day until that wasn't the purest form of torture imaginable. And when it got better, I started going further and further and eventually, I ran 5ks and 10ks and even a few half-marathons. And all the while, I lost a ton of weight and my legs are ridiculous! Good luck in your journey.

    Reply
  2. I know exactly how you feel. I saw some pictures of me over Christmas and I was like "THAT'S IT! I'M DONE feeling this way".So, I'm dieting and exercising. So far, since Jan 1, I've lost over 9 pounds. It feels good but I had to give up sugar and my alcohol. I'll get it back once I reach my goal weight.Good luck! I know you'll do good. Just stick with it!Thanks for linking up with us again!

    Reply
  3. Sounds like you are doing this in a great way. I hope it goes well for you!

    Reply
  4. Good luck! you have more going for you than I do… MOTIVATION!! I just can't get into it. I need to lose 30lbs.

    Reply
  5. Good Luck!I adore the name Scarlett!

    Reply
  6. Great job making the decision to get healthier! I made that one of my main resolutions this year too, and it's been great! Working out puts me in the best mood, but keeping up those healthy eating choices have been more difficult for me. Here's to a healthy 2012!

    Reply
  7. Here's to permanent weight loss! *clink!* 🙂 I'm in the same boat as you, never having lost the baby weight, but I've decided this is the year I'm going to focus and just do it! 🙂 Good luck to both of us! 🙂Skylanders Craze Part 2, Wishing for Snow and Advanced Potty Training: RTT Rebel

    Reply
  8. Good luck!

    Reply
  9. I think motivation is the key. You sound motivated! Good luck with it!

    Reply
  10. I just sent you an invite to Fitocracy. It's helped me with motivation, big time.I'll admit, I'm not exercising much right now, but I will. I actually enjoy it these days, thanks to the magic of audio books.

    Reply
  11. I can totally relate! Last year I lost 35 pounds and then the holiday season happened and I gained some weight back! I didn't even realize it until I put on a pair of jeans one day and I could barely zip them up. And I was SO mad at myself.So back to square one again…back on the weight loss wagon. I've lost 3.5 pounds since last week so I'm doing well. And it sounds like you're doing well, too.We can keep each other encouraged and inspired!!! Keep up the great work!

    Reply
  12. When my dad died in April of 2010 I started eating out of grief. I also needed antidepressants, which didn't help. Now I am about 12 lbs overweight and I'm DONE with my clothes being uncomfortable!I am on an exercise program too, and my goal is slow and steady weight loss. I want to be my regular size by Memorial Day.Raising my glass to you, too! Good luck. We can do it!

    Reply
  13. Good for you, girl!!!! It sounds like you are doing amazing so far. Getting up to an hour workout is HARD and you've already done that! I'm excited to watch your progress. Good luck!!!

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

