Potty Training 102

Logan at 16 months.

In my last post on potty training, I discussed daytime training. Now I want to talk about naptime training.

I don’t think there are any tricks to it. With both Logan and Lila, there came a point when I noticed that they were waking up from naps dry, and they would, at that age (between 20 – 24 months), nap a minimum of 2 hours a day, sometimes more. Though I had taken them out of diapers during the day, they wore one for nap until they were able to go for a while without waking up wet. Of course if I didn’t put them on the potty as soon as they woke, then they would wet, but once they got used to going on the potty after nap, they would hold it until I put them on. Once they reached that point, then I could let them nap without a diaper.

Lila is currently 2 years, 8 months old. She is daytime and naptime trained, but that isn’t to say there are never accidents. These mostly happen when she has had a lot to drink, enough that she has to pee several times in one hour. At those times I do remind her that she has to remember to get to the potty instead of peeing where she is – on the floor, couch, playmat, balcony, my bed, etc.

It is important to remember that, even once a child is trained, accidents can and will happen, but it doesn’t mean you have to go back to diapers. Some reasons a child might have an accident are:

– Forgetfulness. Toddlers need lots of reminders, not because they can’t remember things (try to get them to forget that song they heard on t.v. two weeks ago that they only heard once and won’t stop singing), but because often fun gets in the way. They are busy playing and exploring the world. In other words, their minds are engaged in what they are doing and they don’t notice that they need to go until it is too late.

-Not recognizing the need to go. Learning to recognize the feeling of needing to go is important and it takes time.

– Some children try but just can’t hold it, others wait until past the feeling before they say anything. I remember doing that as a child, why, I don’t know. Logan will also wait until the last second before he says anything and then he can hardly hold it, but he does. I can’t remember when he last had an accident. (He’s 4.)

– Too much to drink. Input equals output. The more they drink, the more they will pee. It isn’t rocket science.

I think that what it comes down to is that you have to remember for them until they can do it for themselves. If it has been a while and you suddenly think about it, put them on right away. I know that when this happens to me and I ignore the feeling, next thing I know is that Lila is wet. It happens often and you’d think I’d have the lesson down by now. Let’s hope I get it before I begin Scarlett’s potty training.

Potty Training 103 -night training.

How did naptime training work for you and at what age was your child staying dry during their nap?

Leave a comment

Comments make me smile!

