The First Time…

When is the last time you did something for the first time, something you have never done before? It doesn’t happen to me so often any more (as opposed to when I was younger and so many things were “first time”), so when it does, it really stands out.
I’m thinking about the time when I first nursed Logan. He was 10 days old and the only step left before he would be discharged from the NICU was for him to breastfeed. I remember not being sure how to hold him, and the nurse showing me how to put a pillow on my lap for support and how to get him to latch on. It was at that moment that the thought came to me, “Wow, this is a first. I can’t remember when I last did something for the first time.”
Now 3 kids and 4 years later, I can breastfeed without thinking about it, but that first time will forever stand out as a first-time event.

Today I had a first time event too. I took Logan to school.
Normally daddy takes him since he works there, but today he wasn’t feeling well and needed a little extra sleep. I have picked him up before but never taken him, so I put a video on for the girls, got Logan ready, and headed out with just him. Actually, I can’t remember the last time I went out with only Logan. Ha.
With daddy he goes on the scooter, but of course I don’t drive (cause the only things I can drive well are bumper cars), so we got an auto and made it just as his teacher was arriving. Perfect. And on the way the thought came to me, “This is a first-time event. I should blog about it.”

Hopefully I will have more first-time events that stand out like these, and I hope I can recognise them and remember them.

When is the last time you did something for the first time?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I don't think I can answer that question! I'll have to pay better attention so I don't miss those moments when they come.

    Reply
  2. I made cream of turkey soup for the first time today from left overs! yay me 😉 Cute blog!

    Reply
  3. I love some of my "first times"! Recently, I gave up drinking coke for Lent and I MADE it! I've NEVER done that before, follow through with something I said I was going to do. So for me, this was HUGE! Here's to more "firsts" in our future!

    Reply
  4. Wow. Hmmm…. I know. I went on a trip by myself for the first time since I've had kids last December. Whew. I was scared for a minute there. (Visiting from Write on Edge. Captcha is being rude, as it typically is, so I'm leaving my blog address here: http://jesterqueen.com )

    Reply
  5. Interested that you could still breast feed 10 days later. My son was only in ICU a day but he'd experienced formula so my milk could never satiate him 😦

    Reply
  6. Sandra, what they did was, as soon as he was ready for milk, they had me express it and they would give him the correct amounts at set times. So by the time he was ready to nurse, he was acustomed to it.

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

