Tomato and Cheese Pasta

Everyone who knows me well knows of my love for pasta. Spagetti, lasagna, or plain noodles and cheese, it doesn’t matter. I could live on it. Unfortunately, my husband doesn’t share the same feelings, saying that pasta is too bland for his taste. The food he was raised on is so spicy that it makes your eyes water, nose run and throat burn, while your mouth feels like it is on fire. I haven’t survived much of that but you can see why he feels anything else is bland.Because of this, I don’t make pasta very often; maybe a few times a month, including my pasta salad. Today I felt the need for some pasta and cheese so I made a simple yet flavorful tomato and cheese pasta.

This is about half of what was left.
 
You will need:
250 gr. pasta, any type, cooked and drained
3 large tomatoes, chopped
4 – 6 cloves of garlic, diced
100 ml. tomato puree
salt, pepper, and chili powder to taste (you could also add traditional Italian pasta spices if you like – I just didn’t have any on hand)
250 gr. hard cheese (I used cheddar, but you could use any you like), chopped
A few spoonfuls of a flavored cheese spread (makes it creamier)
 
 
Cook and drain your pasta.
Chop tomatos and garlic, and fry in a little oil till almost done. Add a little water if it sticks.
Add puree, 1 cup of water and spices, and cook until completely done.
Add pasta and cheeses, mixing until cheese melts.
Serve and enjoy.
This is great as is, or you could add some mushrooms and green pepper for extra yum.
Leave a comment

Comments make me smile!

