Things I Do (That You Never Have to Think About)

I often sit and wonder what to write about. During the day so many ideas pass through my head. Sometimes I note them down, but more often than not I forget about them and then when I do sit to write, my mind goes blank, usually due to tiredness. That is my current state – fuzzy mommy brain.

Well, I can blame a large part of that tiredness on my rascals who all still wake up in the night for one reason or another. Lila and Scarlett literally alternated the other night and I was up every 1 – 1 1/2 hours with one of them. And the rest of the blame goes to PMS. Ok.

I have such grand plans and ideas to write more about India, since most people who read my blog have never been here and have no idea what it is like. I also have more recipe ideas to share, stuff about the kids, etc.

Ok, enough intro. What can I share with you in the next 10 minutes before I have to get Logan up and breakfast ready?

 

There are some things I do on a regular basis that you probably never have to do or even think about doing. For example:

Boil milk daily. We get our milk delivered to the door each morning, just like most everyone else here does. It is convenient to not have to buy fresh milk all the time. The downside? It has to be boiled to clean it. It comes already pasteurized  but it is common knowledge that the places that package the milk are far from sterile. Everyone boils their milk daily. It is a fact of life.

Make my own yogurt. While I can buy yogurt, it comes out much cheaper to make it myself. Just to give you an idea: I pay Rs. 28 per liter (roughly $0.60 Can.) for milk. We get 2 liters a day, and I freeze 1/2 a ltr. at a time, easy cause it comes in 1/2 ltr. packages. Every 2 or 3 days I make 1 ltr. of yogurt at a time. Now, if I were to buy that amount, the cost would almost triple. 400 mls. of yogurt is Rs. 32 (roughly $0.70 Can.) That is less than 1/2 a ltr. I’d have to buy 3 of those, costing me Rs. 96 every 2 or 3 days. Over time, making yogurt is much cheaper, and it is one thing I don’t mind doing as it only takes minutes to do.

Update: (These were the 2011 prices; now in 2013 I am paying about 10 rupees more per liter of milk, and packaged yogurt costs about that much more too.)

Curious about how to make it? Put the milk you are using in a pot. I find whole milk makes thick creamy yogurt, while partly-skimmed milk makes thinner, runnier yogurt, so choose according to how you like your yogurt. You can use fresh or powdered milk.

Put the pot on the stove and stay close. You want to heat it to a temperature where you can stick your finger in and it’s too hot to keep it there but not so hot that it gets burned. Once it gets to this temperature, stir in a tablespoonful of yogurt. You can either leave it in the pot or pour it into another container to set. Make sure the container you use has a lid so it stays clean.

In a cold climate you will want to wrap the container or pot in blankets and place it in your oven (ensure it is off). In hot weather it can set right on the counter. My prefered method is to wrap my container in a towel and place it in the oven overnight. By morning it is set and it just needs time to chill.

Visit the butcher. While it is possible to buy frozen meat in some places, the cost is almost prohibitive, so we buy it fresh. Chicken can be delivered to the door, but for beef, Glad has to go to the tiny shop, get squished by the crowed all waiting for their meat, see the entire cow hanging there, make sure it is cleaned and cut the way we want it, etc. Because of the ordeal it is, we buy beef for the month. When he brings it home, I have to divide it up into portions, package and freeze it.

One plus of this is that we get a good cut each time. You have to be early or the best cuts are gone quickly. In case you are wondering, yes, beef is sold here. The Hindus don’t eat it, only Christians and Muslims. Most of the beef shops are owned by Muslims since they are some of the biggest meat eaters.

These are only a few things. If more come to mind, well, you will get another post about them.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I always have great ideas and forget them too, then I end up writing my mediocre ideas. 🙂 I've never tried homemade yogurt before. I may have to give it a try.

    Reply
  2. I've always wanted to make homemade yogurt, but have never tried it. I've heard it's good though! I have a recipe to do it in the crockpot I'd like to try.

    Reply
  3. You are amazing and I want to hear more and more and more about your life!

    Reply
  4. I keep a notebook to write down my blogging ideas as they always Coe at bad times. Love this!

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

