Chicken Egg Rolls


When it comes to cooking, I do it because I have to, not because I enjoy it. Even so, there are a few items I do like to make every so often, and this is one of them: chicken egg rolls.
I’ve eaten similar things before, but the following is my own recipe.

400 gr. boneless chicken, preboiled and shredded
1 medium onion
1 medium green pepper
2 large tomatos
1 small green chili, thin slices
1 tsp. garlic paste
100 ml. tomato puree
1/2 tsp. each of corriander powder, chicken masala, cumin powder, chili powder
salt to taste
8 chapattis
4 eggs, beaten

– Chop and fry onion, green pepper, tomatos, chili and garlic paste.
– When almost done, add spices and fry for a few minutes, then add puree and enough water to make a thick sauce.
– Cook a few more minutes, then add shredded chicken and salt. Set aside.
– In frying pan, add a little butter or ghee, then 1/2 a beaten egg. Immediately place chapatti on top, pressing gently to spread egg evenly. Once egg is set, flip over.
– Spoon filling down the middle, then fold both sides over and cook a few more minutes, open side down. Optional: add a little grated cheese before adding the chicken filling.
– Serve with yoghurt for dipping.

Makes 8 rolls.

I always make my own chapatties, but you could use bought ones, or flour tortillas would work as well. It is a bit of work to make these but the end result is well worth it.

Let me know if you try it and like it, or if you make something similar. I’m always on the lookout for new, easy-to-make recipes and welcome any tips or ideas. Enjoy.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Egg rolls – my favorite – so impressed you can make them. Do you have a deep fryer?

    Reply
  2. No, I don't. If I need to deep fry anything I just use a regular pot.

    Reply
  3. Oh wow, those look super delicious!! It's been years since I've made egg rolls but mine were more the Chinese style egg rolls (and my kids weren't wild about them!)Got you back up on my blogroll!!

    Reply
  4. Will have to use corn flour tortillas, but I want to try this receipe! Do you have the nanimo bar receipe? love u Mom

    Reply
  5. Yes, mom, I have it. I'll send it to you.

    Reply
  6. Yum! I LOVE eggrolls, but have never made my own. Your recipe sounds delicious.

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

