Finding Quiet in the Chaos

Currently my life is in constant chaos. With 3 small kids running around, peace and quiet are rare occurances for me. I look forward to things like naps and bedtime, cause those are the only times when I can think.
As a mommy, you will slowly, or sometimes rapidly, lose your sanity unless you find ways to destress. Every mommy needs time to herself, something that can be so hard to get. If you are fortunate to have a husband or relatives or even a babysitter who you can rely on for some time away, that’s great.
But what if you don’t have any help at all? What do you do when you feel your head is about to explode and you have to get away from it all, but the kids are still there? Well, here are a few ideas, things I have tried that help me.
I find I can relax best once my kids are sleeping. I get them into bed, do any jobs that are left that can’t wait for the next day (why do them if they can wait, right?) and then it’s “me time”.

– Once baby is in bed, have a hot shower or bath. Focus on the water flowing over you and let everything else out of your mind. Stay as long as you can.

– No matter what anyone says, chocolate can be a sanity saver for a stressed-out mom. If you are afraid of eating too much, then put it somewhere where you have to work to get at it, or don’t keep it at home but instead, get some from the corner store on your way home from the park or your walk with baby. Eat it slowly, savoring each bite.

– Do you have a favorite drink that helps you relax? It can be whatever you like, from ice water, to lemonade, to wine, and yes, hard liquor. Sometimes I find a drink of rum and coke or vodka with juice to be so relaxing. It soothes my nerves and helps me destress. But it doesn’t have to be alcohol, if you’d rather not. Any drink you enjoy can help take the stress off life if you drink it slowly and enjoy it.
Note: you may have heard that breastfeeding moms shouldn’t have alcohol, but a drink once in a while isn’t going to hurt.

– Try combining all 3 ideas above to help you to really relax.

– Do you like slow music? Put on your favorite songs and lie back and listen to them, or if you have some energy to get rid of (you must be a rare one) then get up and dance to some fast songs. Slow or fast, music can be soothing and relaxing.

– Watch some t.v. or your favorite movie.

What ideas do you have for relaxing?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Wonderful tips…I find these things to be relaxing also. Running is my sanity saver…and is good to get rid of a lot of chocolate I consume on a daily basis 😉

    Reply
  2. Yes, I cherish bed time as it is totally me time.

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

