Another Childhood Memory

Often when my hands are busy with stuff I can do by rote, my mind wanders off to memories. I don’t pick the ones that come, which is why sometimes I remember things that were long forgotten. This one happened when I was 6 years old.

We were on a trip somewhere, I don’t know where. That part is long gone. We had one of those pop-up trailers that were popular back then (early 80’s) and it was full of our suitcases, etc. I don’t know if it was due to heavy rain or what, but somehow all of our suitcases and their contents got wet. We stopped at a motel, and I remember my mom hanging all the clothes around the room to dry.

While she was busy, she got me to help with the baby, my sister Anaik, who couldn’t have been more than 6 months old. Mom decided to have me take her outside, so she put the baby in the carrier and strapped it on me, telling me to walk her around but to stay on the property.

So I wondered around looking for something to do. There was a small swing set around the side of the building, so I figured I’d sit and swing with her. When I went to sit down, I must have leaned too far forward (and now that I think about it, that adult-sized carrier was too big), and Anaik almost fell out. She was sliding out head-first but I managed to stop her from falling and get her back in. I was terrified that I’d be in huge trouble if I reported it, so Mom, this is why you’ve never heard this story before.

Anyway, she didn’t get hurt and I learned to be more careful with her. Now that I think back on it, I wonder why mom even had me carrying her when I was so young. I guess she needed to get the wet clothes taken care of and I was her only option for help. My 3 and 4 year old brothers would not have been the ones to do it.

Mom, do you remember this trip? I’ve always wondered exactly how the clothes and suitcases got wet since the trailer was closed and would have been waterproof.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I don't even remember this trip sweetheart!And I hope that I would not have been hard on you if something had happened with Anaik. You were a big girl for your age not just physically, but you were responsible, if you can believe that, the eldest always seems to get to be their mama,s right hand.I did trust you a lot.Sorry you went through that with baby Anaik, I should have made sure that it wasn't too much for you.

    Reply
  2. Just to clarify, no I don't think you would have been hard on me. Scared for Anaik, most likely, maybe given me a lecture; Jason was the one I was terrified of. He spanked for everything and I would have done anything to avoid a spank from him.

    Reply
  3. GBY. Yes, I understand. Love mom

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

