Success!

Well, I finally did it. I’ve been debating for some time whether I was ready or not but I realised that I was only prolonging the agony. What am I talking about? Logan’s nighttime potty training. I took him out of diapers at night!
Ok, I guess I was hesitant to make the switch, not knowing exactly what the outcome would be. I’ve potty trained children before I had my own, just never at night, which is why I wasn’t sure how to go about it. There were a few things pushing me to just get it done, mainly the fact that the diapers were getting too small and larger sizes are hard to find. People here train their children earlier than people in the West do. In fact, pull-up’s for 3 to 4 year olds have only just come out this year, but the small packs cost more than diapers do. They are one of the most expensive things you can buy. I do consider it worth it to use disposables at night (and for the baby while on outings as well). That way they don’t have to feel the wetness of a cloth diaper and I don’t have to deal with middle-of-the-night diaper changes.
So anyway, I found that he was staying dry all night, but would then pee in the diaper just as soon as he woke up. That was when I decided that it was time to just take it off and see what would happen.
So far he has done well. He only needs to pee once in the night, and so far he has woken up dry every morning. Good thing too, as he wakes up in our bed. 🙂 As long as I take him to the toilet once in the night he does fine. Yes! We have just cut the cost on diapers for him and Lila in half. I’m happy about that.
I took the time to explain to him that now he is a big boy and can stay dry all night, so he doesn’t need diapers. We talked about him waking me if he wakes up and needs to pee, and he asked for big boy diapers. Ha. He is ok without them now, and it’s only been a few days.
On top of that, Lila has started waking up dry too, though not every night. For now I won’t take her out of diapers at night, for my own peace of mind. During the day though, she is doing great. For the most part she is dry, and I can even take her out to the park without a diaper. The worst that can happen is she’ll wet her pants, so if we are going for longer than an hour I just take an extra pair and change her if needed. She has yet to learn how to use the toilet in a public place; she often forgets to tell me she needs to go and doesn’t yet use the regular toilet, only the potty, but were getting there. I took her out of diapers at the beginning of the year; she wears panties all day and I think that has helped her be more aware of what it means to be dry. Yes, she has accidents daily but it’s not the end of the world. She isn’t even two yet so I think she is doing well.
I’m happy with Logan’s success cause it’s my success too.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Congratulations Mama Mercy and Logan – keep up the good work! love you grandma

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

