Memories

This came to me this morning, I don’t know why. I haven’t thought of this event for years now.

When I was about 7 years old, I was out shopping with my mom, 2 younger brothers and baby sister. I remember her being in the stroller but she was at least a year old, maybe more.

We were in a large department store when Steve (probably about 4 years old) had to use the toilet. Mom sent me in with him; when we came out, no one was there. So I took charge and we traipsed all over the store looking for my mom. I don’t know how long we were lost for but it must have been for some time as Steve started crying. We even left the shop and ventured into the mall to look for her.

I remember going up and down escalators in the search, and one lady asked why Steve was crying. I told her we were looking for our mom but couldn’t find her. When she asked where she was last, I said she had been shopping for a birthday gift for my dad. Ha. I don’t know if that was true or not, probably wasn’t, but it seemed to be the right thing to say at the time. Maybe I was just scared, I don’t know. I think she eventually took us to mall security and while out there we spotted mom looking all over for us.

Well, this is what I remember of that event. Anybody else remember it?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments make me smile!

