My stovetop baking attempt

Something I really enjoy is baking, but I find myself without an oven and thus, no way to bake anything. I usually make all my family’s birthday cakes, and with Glad’s birthday just around the corner, I decided to try an experiment: “bake” a cake in a pot set inside another pot that is full of boiling water.
The basic idea was to use the double boiler method, except I later found out that a double boiler doesn’t work like that. Anyway, I made my favorite chocolate cake recepie, greased and floured the small pot, and put the whole thing on to boil. The general concept worked for the most part, except that there was no way to get any heat on the top of the cake so it never cooked, nor did the middle, though it probably would have if I had left it a few more hours. Yes, hours. The part that did manage to cook took 4 hours. I feel for an experiment it was ok, but that was a waste of gas and I don’t think I’ll try it again.
We did eat it, Glad and I. It was pretty tasty, even if it was half cooked in places. But now I need to find another solution. Does anyone know of a way to make a cake on the stove, without it burning? And I’m not talking about pancakes, I mean real cake. If you have any ideas, let me know.

On another note, Lila said two new words today. We were putting the toys away and she picked up a block and said “bok” and kept saying it the whole time we were working. Then in the shop, Logan was talking about chocolate and Lila, with a big grin, said “chocolate” (though not perfectly like that). At the rate she is going I won’t be surprised if she is talking well by the end of the year.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Mom has a vessel with a copper bottom down which is used to bake cakes on gas.You get a lot of them at the shops .They are just meant to bake cakes on gas.You could ask your hubby to get it from mangalore too …

    Reply
  2. Thats the first thing that came to my mind too 🙂 though the one I have seen at home, mom used to put some clean sand on a tray to conduct the heat better I guess ! Good Luck Mercy !

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

