Filling My Senses

One of the kids favorite of bedtime routines is dancing with daddy before sleep. He puts on some slow bedtime songs, things like “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” and such. But his favorite song to play is “You Fill Up My Senses” by John Denver. It is such a beautiful song; if you have never heard it, you’re missing something.

This song always brings back to me the memory of our first vacation as a couple. Well, okay, as a family, since Logan was there, but he was only 4 months old. We were staying in a small resort in Goa. Every night at dinner a guy (who could barely be called a musician since he could hardly play and definitely couldn’t sing) would play the guitar and sing for us. That was our nightly “entertainment”.

Because the food was served buffet style, I didn’t pay any attention the night Glad got up from the table. I figured he was after more food so I turned my attention to Logan, who was fussing. As soon as I stood up I heard, “Sit down, honey”, and there he was, guitar in hand, trying his best to figure out the cords to the song. Glad had gotten up to borrow the guitar from the guy so he could play me a song in front of all those people, mostly old couples. He fumbled through the cords in the first verse, probably out of nervousness, but then by the second verse he got it and sang so everyone there could hear. (He has a great voice, by the way.) Afterward he got a round of applause and I was left with a memory I will always cherish.

Here is a video of the song for those of you who have never heard it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. :)..i love his voice too…..Amar & Gladu do make a good pair when get down to singing….ah!the good old days..

    Reply
  2. Well if Phil sang to me that song like Glad did, I'd never forget it either! So wonderful of Glad, you too just hang on to those sweet memories and make new ones; those things the Lord will help to use to keep you together for ever and always.GBY! love you Mom

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

