Chatterbox

I’m still adjusting to the fact that Logan can talk so well now. I’ve been so used to him not talking that every time he uses a new word it takes me by surprise. He is now making 2- and 3-word sentences, generally a noun-verb-noun combination, for example, (these are some of his actual sentences) “Mommy hug daddy” (seeing me give Glad a hug), “Mommy eat food”, “see cow”, “mow lowlock” (more yoghurt), “watch video”. He says lots more than this but that is all I can think of at this moment. Tonight he surprised me even more by quoting the whole song “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star”. He can’t say all the words perfectly, but he knows it. When playing, he spends lots of time talking to himself. Most of the time he either talks about what he is doing (such as when making a puzzle he keeps repeating what part of the picture he is doing) or he counts. He can count to 10 but he always skips 7 since he can’t say it well. Sometimes he stops at 5 or 6 and goes back to 1. He will do this over and over, non stop. The way he talks on and on reminds me of my youngest brother, Zeke, when he was 3. He went through a phase when he repeated the same words of his request for a night snack exactly the same every night for months on end. If I remember correctly it went something like this (with a preschooler’s accent): “Take a piece of bread, put peanut butter on it, and more bread and honey on it, and put it together and put it on a plate and cut it and eat it.” Every single night. He just had to say it. I can imagine Logan coming up with something like that soon enough, though at this time Logan’s night snack is just a cup of milk and his request for it is always just “mowk”.

Leave a comment

Comments make me smile!

