My birthday and more

My husband is traveling right now so it’s just me and the rascals, both of whom are still awake when they should have been long asleep. I’m trying to get Lila to fall asleep on her own without being patted, but she just keeps sitting up every time I move my hand away, so now I am sitting next to her on my bed with my leg gently on top of her to keep her down so my hands will be free to type.
So what have we been up to? Well, my birthday was a few days ago. I’m too old to make any hype about it, but not too old to want it to be forgotten. As long as I remind him a few times early in the month, my husband will remember it. Ha. Anyway, this year he was going to be gone on my birthday. One of his college friends was getting married and the wedding was that day. It wasn’t possible for all of us to make the trip to Bangalore so he went alone. (He is at his mom’s place for a time; that is why he is still gone. Will be home Monday.)
Anyway, so we decided to celebrate it two days early. We went out as a family, something we don’t do very often. I wanted to get a mobile phone. I’ve never had one before but Glad has so since he is the expert on phones I needed his help. Afterwards he told me that this year I can’t say he didn’t get me a gift. Ha. He always gets me something, but this is the biggest yet. Then we took some time to check out the mall since he has never gone there and that is when I took the kids to the shop I showed you pictures of in the last post. Then we all had lunch together at KFC.

Waiting for the food. I meant to take a family photo but it didn’t happen. Next time.


On my actual birthday I took the kids out to a different mall that has a mini aquarium. Logan used to love it but this time he was done with it in less than a minute. I guess he’s seen it too many times. This particular mall also has a snow world attraction, though I’ve never gone in. In this heat, though, it does sound inviting. Outside there are large polar bears and I believe it is supposed to be full of snow. They lend you boots and coats for the experience. Maybe when the kids are older I’ll take them. Too much hassle at this age.
After the aquarium, I bought myself some new earrings. I love dangle earrings and pick up a few new ones every so often. I didn’t have the stroller with me since we went by auto so it wasn’t easy to shop and hold onto the kids at the same time. Logan gets into trouble as soon as we get into any shop if he is not contained somehow, like in a cart. So I had to hold his hand the whole time with him trying to get away. Lila, on the other hand, wanted to hold my hand, but I knew that in this particular shop there was nothing at her level to get into so I tried to get her to look around on her own, but she didn’t want to. Dispite all that, I still managed to pick out 3 nice pairs of earrings. Then I took them for a snack before heading home.
Other than that, we’ve mostly been home. Current temperatures are such that you don’t want to leave the house, or your air conditioned bedroom. Today’s high was 40.8degrees C. I don’t think people are meant to live in such heat, yet thousands do here every day. Just this evening we went to do some grocery shopping. The place I go is close to home, walking distance, yet on the way back with the stroller full of baby and bags and Logan dragging on it, I came home drenched in sweat, and this was at 6 p.m. I sure got my workout today.
Ok, I’m hungry, I need a snack. Lila is asleep now but Logan is still up. At least I can leave the room when he is awake without him making a fuss. He used to but doesn’t any more.
Until next time.

Leave a comment

Comments make me smile!

