On Mother’s Day

It’s Mother’s Day and I’m sitting in bed with my kids sleeping around me. I need rest and sleep but I can’t sleep. So I am thinking about life with my kids. Why is there a day dedicated to mothers anyway? Is it so we can feel special, even if no one remembers to wish us a happy mothers day? Is it so the shops can have discounts one more time in the year and sell more on one more day?
Or is is so we can stop and think about how blessed we are to be mothers, even though we truly have the hardest job in the world. Yes, I was among those who used to see motherhood as easy…until Logan came along. I used to think I’d want my baby with me all the time and I’d never need a break. Ha, that went quickly, especially when Lila showed up.
Now I find myself wishing for just a few more minutes to myself. I can’t remember the last time I slept through the night; lately I spend more time awake than asleep at night, thanks to the baby’s hormones. If I want to use the toilet alone, I have to lock the door, otherwise Logan will open it and Lila will follow. (She loves the bathroom.)I do everything with my kids: eat, shower, walk, clean, sleep, relax(that’s a joke), cook, and so on.
But if you were to ask me if I would rather go back to being single and childless I’d say “no way”. Cause as hard and tiring as this job is, it’s gotta be the best. Payment comes in small ways, such as Lila’s kisses when she wakes me up, or Logan (finally!) learning to talk at the rate of several new words a day. It comes in the way of successful potty training, succeeding in getting a bored child to eat his whole meal, watching my baby walk in the grass and have fun finding leaves and other things to taste. Dispite the fact that I know it will be years before time for myself on a regular basis becomes reality, I know that I have it to look forward to.
There will come a day when the kids are grown up and gone. I will probably be wondering what to do with myself then. But I will enjoy “now” while it is here.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Happy Mothers Day, sweetheart. There is no greater person in the world than a mother. Yes, you are blessed. I pray you had a great mothers day. I'm going to email you too. Love you guys a lot. Dad

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

