A Glimpse of Our Day

Lila is standing by the laundry rack, holding it tight while trying to shake the clothespins off of it. She has excellent balance for a baby and I’m more concerned about the rack falling on her than her falling down.
Now she is holding the edge of the table and is making her way around it, reaching for whatever she can grab. Her highchair is still covered in crumbs from lunch. I’m trying to come up with something to write about and keep an eye on her at the same time.
Logan is in bed but isn’t asleep. I put him in bed almost an hour ago, but he is still playing. Now he is crying. I’d better see why. He had to go potty. Now he is back in bed but I don’t know if he will sleep or not. I’m going to leave him for a while longer but I’ll let him up in 1/2 an hour or so if he doesn’t go to sleep. The only problem with him not napping is that he will be so tired by 6 p.m. that he will take a nap then and be up half the night.
I read some other blogs of mothers who have children who are 2 and 3 years old and are still not potty trained, and it makes me thankful that I took the time to train Logan early. He has been daytime trained for about 6 months now, meaning he hardly has any accidents. I can’t imagine letting him poop in his pants at this age. I’d hate having to clean it. It’s bad enough cleaning my baby who is almost 10 months old. (That reminds me. I’ll have to start putting her on the potty soon.)
He still wears a diaper at night. Nighttime training takes longer but I think I want to wait a while, at least until Lila sleeps through the night, as it would take a lot out of me to be up every few hours to put him on the potty in the night, and have to wake up every time Lila wants to nurse.
Logan no longer wakes up for his water bottle at night, so today I told him that we would exchange his baby bottle for a “big boy” bottle. What triggered my desire to change over is that he likes to chew on the nipple and leave huge holes in it. Then when he would take the bottle into his bed, it would leak and leave the bed soaked, and I was spending so much on new nipples every few weeks. We bought a childs water bottle with a picture of Spiderman on it. That takes it from the level of baby to child I think. He just has to learn how to open the top by himself. I will hide his Winnie the Pooh bottle for a few months and save it for Lila when I wean her. By then I hope he will have forgotten that it was ever his.
Ok, Lila is demanding attention and I haven’t done the lunch dishes yet, so I’d better go. And I hope Logan will be asleep when I check on him.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Sounds like you have a full day ahead!!Just wanted to thank you for stopping by and commenting on my blog! I wish I could've seen your husband's interpretation of "Greased Lightening!!"

    Reply
  2. Oh I wished that you had posted some photos! They are real little sweeties!Yes, it looks like you have your hands full!Hope you have a great day!

    Reply
  3. Sorry about no pics. I didn't take any. Next time.

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

