A Little of This and That

So today is a day to go slow, take it easy, relax. We slept late, ate at odd times, avoided all manner of normalicy. Ha. (Is that a word?) Here are a few pictures.

I found Lila under our desk this morning, chewing on Logan’s bottle. He doesn’t like it when she gets it so maybe that is why she is hiding.

Logan and daddy played cricket while daddy was watching India play South Africa. Glad says Logan will be a good bowler one day and that he can already throw like a pro. Check it out.









A tired boy eats his lunch. That is daddy’s cake on his face.

And here is the cake I made for my husband for valentines. We don’t celebrate valentines with anything big. Actually, I think this is the first time we have done anything, and by that I mean he gave me roses and I made him his favorite chocolate cake. It isn’t a big deal to us.



This cake is by far the best recipe I have ever found for a chocolate cake. It is moist and soft and delicious – the only one I ever make now. If you want the recipe you can find it at Simply Recipes. This recipe makes enough for a three-layer chocolate cake, but I only wanted a small one (it is very rich) so I made a third of the recipe. If you love moist cake, this is the one to make.

A few tips:

– Because it is so moist, you have to bake it in small pans. Don’t do like I did one time and make it in a super large one as it will fall apart when you take it out.

– When making the frosting, I found that you can cut the butter down to one third of what it calls for and it still comes out good.

You probably noticed the strawberries on mine. What I did was, after the cake was cool, I cut it in half, frosted the bottom and layered it with cut strawberries, then I put the top half on and frosted that well and decorated it with a few large strawberries cut in half. Mmmmm.

It was good, so don’t delay, make it today. Your taste buds will thank you.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. The cake looks DELICIOUS, and I see your son agrees! Love the picture of your baby "hiding" too! Thanks for the smile!

    Reply
  2. That looks AMAZING!!!! Loved the pictures!!

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

