Colds and Baking

I’ve been busy with baking, wiping snotty noses, cleaning the house, baking, snotty noses, laundry, and yes again, those snotty noses. Get the idea? Both kids have colds but poor Lila got it the worst. The first night I had to sit up with her and hold her in an upright position so she could sleep. I didn’t get much sleep that night. Her nose is sore from being wiped and she moves her head fast when she sees me coming to wipe it. Poor baby. Then she cries the cry of “Mommy, I hate you” when I’m done wiping it.

In the baking department, I DID MY FIRST FRUITCAKE OF THE SEASON TODAY. Ok, so I’m behind. I should have done them a few weeks ago and then had them soaking in rum by now, but better late than never, right? One difficulty with fruitcakes is that there are thousands of recipes out there and I couldn’t find one that was simple. When I’m making a cake, I don’t like to have 50 steps to the end. I prefer to use one bowl, one spoon, one measuring cup and one measuring spoon. I don’t want to sift, roll, toss, grate, crush, pinch, blend and fold every item into the cake. It takes forever that way. So I decided to come up with my own cake recipie. I did let everyone know that this was a test run so that they wouldn’t expect perfection. It came out better than I expected, just a tad dry, so I need to add more liquid, but other than that, it was good. Glad liked it so I know it was a success.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments make me smile!

