How Do You Say That?

I knew it would come up sooner or later. Someone was bound to ask how to pronounce Lila’s name, so here is the simple answer. The “i” is long, as in the word “lie” and the “la” is just la. Does that help?

And for the curious, her name has meanings in several languages. In Hindi it means “free will of God”, in Persian it means “lilac”, and in Arabic it means something like “dark night” or “starry night” or something like that. I thought it was very pretty ever since I first heard it in the movie “August Rush”. By the way, if you haven’t seen that movie, you should. It’s excellent.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I knew it was a beautiful name, just didn't know what it meant. I'm happy to know now how to pronounce it. My wife loves that movie August Rush & must have seen it a hundred times, no exaggeration. I haven't seen it once, so I guess now I need to see it. Love Ya,Dad

    Reply
  2. Beautiful name mercy…God bless both the kids..wish i was around to see her.Take care

    Reply
  3. August Rush? Can’t say I like dramas. Lila is a good name though.

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

