How Could I Have Missed Mother’s Day?

Probably because I was so busy with the kids I didn’t realize until the day was half done. I was reading the newspaper while Logan was eating lunch and I found a page celebrating Mother’s Day, and it was a revelation to me. I usually know in advance when these special days are coming but this year it passed me by and I didn’t even know it.

Okay, I know you want to hear about Lila. Well, so far she is a good sleeper at night, except for waking up somewhere around 1 a.m. and not wanting to go back to sleep. I have tried putting her in her bed and letting her lie there but it doesn’t work. She loudly lets me know that she is awake and wants to be up. So I lie her on my chest and try to sleep while she stares at me. I don’t know how long she is awake for as I spend the whole time in a sort of half asleep state until I finally fall asleep. Eventually I wake up and find she is sleeping again and then I put her in her bed and I can get comfortable again. This morning I woke up to find her in my bed and I can’t remember how she got there. I must have brought her in to nurse and fell asleep while she was nursing. I sleep very soundly these days. I’m too tired to not be able to sleep.

What do you think of my cool outfit? The pants are actual newborn size jeans. I never knew they made them so small until I saw these.


Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Happy Mother’s Day Mercy and congratulations on your little Dolly. I had to laugh out loud when I read that you moved her to your bed without even remembering doing so. When Ella was born I freaked myself out several times doing things like that. I believe it’s because you’re so exhausted. It’ll stop happening soon enough though, once you adjust. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Mercy, how is her name pronounced? Is it lil-a, like a lily or lee-la? Either one sounds nice. Did you check your email? I sent you a mothers day greeting. And don't worry, I know Glad was busy with the kids & work & the housework, but I forgot you had a dog. I'm not coming over there anytime soon (although I wish I could), so Glad isn't in trouble. We had Rosie's two kids over about a month ago, during spring break, & Laurence slept in our bed, but he kept me awake during the night. I told my wife I don't mind being a grandfather, but I don't want to be a daddy all over again & have to sleep with babies. Ha! I'd go stark raving mad. Ha! 😉 She looks like a real cutie. Love you all a lot, Dad

    Reply
  3. Yes, I do check my mail and I did get your note. Sometimes I don’t check for a few days since the only time I can go on line is when the children are sleeping and Logan generally isn’t asleep before 10 p.m. even though he is in bed between 9 and 9:30. For some reason he takes forever to go to sleep at night, but will be asleep in minutes at nap time.

    Reply
  4. Oh yeah, happy Mom’s day. And who are all these people commenting on you blog that I don’t know? :Pkingl

    Reply
  5. Awww… such a sweetie. Congratulations! I was wondering if you had a blog, but I think I was thrown off by the unusual last name and didn’t realize it was you. I hope you’re adjusting to 2 kids alright. It’s been wild for me, so I feel ya. Kisses to the bubba…

    Reply

Comments make me smile!

