Excuses

I’m sure you’re wondering why I have been so slow to post lately, and I have my very good excuses prepared. One, taking care of a baby doesn’t leave you much time to do anything else. Two, being pregnant means you use every spare moment when you are not taking care of the baby to either eat or catch up on sleep (and perhaps take a shower). Three, I’m lazy when it comes to keeping something going long-term.

So those are my excuses, but since I know you won’t buy them and you are hoping for something exciting, well, maybe I can update you on Logan and his new interests.

Logan has become a very big boy. He can crawl finally. He spent the better part of the last 2 months trying to crawl and he would get so frustrated when he couldn’t do it. He would turn to the crawling position only to land on his tummy and he would cry ’cause he didn’t like not being able to move. So I would sit him up and tell him to let it be, but within 5 seconds he would be back on his tummy again. I, for one, am very happy he can crawl now as I don’t have to be constantly picking him up.

He now has 6 teeth and loves to eat. He eats most anything, though lately he is starting to not like certain things. For example, eggs. He always ate them but now will only eat them when done in a certain way or when really hungry.

Due to my pregnancy I found it necessary to begin weaning him as my body couldn’t take the strain of his non-stop nursing. He now only nurses for a short while before his naps and before bed. During the night I give him a bottle of yoghurt and banana slightly watered down to make it flow and he takes that well.

He loves playing with other children. Whenever possible, I let him play with the toddlers in the house. They love him and he loves them, especially the two-year-old girl who has gained his affection somehow. They sit across the table from each other at mealtime and talk in their own baby talk. Even though she can talk enough for us to understand, when she talks with Logan, she resorts to baby talk, probably to make him feel understood. Ha.

Logan also loves to blabber and will spend most of his waking moments making some sort of noise. His favorite after “dada” is “na-na”, meaning food. He asks for it constantly, no matter whether he just ate or not. He will also say it when eating in order to tell me he wants water. Smart boy. Knows what he wants.

Ok, I just took a break to hang some laundry and get a snack. And in case you are wondering, Logan is asleep, or at least I hope he is.
So now comes the point I know you are waiting for, the PICTURES. These are from last month.

Ahhh…I’m clean. Don’t you think I’m cute?

 

Logan and daddy trying to be cool. We were going out for a barbeque dinner and they wanted to look their best. Can you see daddy’s necklace around Logan’s neck? 

 

These clothes make me look so grown up…

 

…but when it comes down to it, I’m still just a baby.

 

What a messy eater!

 

“But mom, it’s fun to eat like this.”

 

The many faces of Logan…



We went to a friend’s house not long ago and their 4 year old had a room full of toys that would be the envy of any child. Logan had a great time checking everything out. But in the end, after trying to convince him to play with this or that, I found a bag of plastic animals that I was sure he would like. Well, it wasn’t the animals he liked but the cardboard on the top of the bag. It doesn’t take much to make a baby happy.



Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments make me smile!

